Eagle Scouts Program


Chapter president Jay Frey is serving as Eagle Scout Chairman for the Fort Henry Chapter.  He is our liaison to the Ohio River Valley Council of the Boy Scouts of America for scouts in the Council who reside in West Virginia.

The National Society, Sons of the American Revolution offers a recognition program for scouts who achieve Eagle Scout status and also sponsors the Arthur M. and Berdena King Eagle Scout Scholarships.  To enter the annual scholarship competition, an Eagle Scout submits a two page application form, the Four Generation ancestor chart and a 500 word essay on a patriotic theme.  Entrants move through the chapter and West Virginia State Society competitions to qualify as the state’s entrant in the national competition. 

The National First Place Winner receives $10,000; 2nd Place – $6,000; 3rd Place – $4,000; 4th Place – $2,000; 5th Place – $1000; 6th thru 10th – $500; and 11th thru 15th – $200. The First Place Winner will be asked to appear at the SAR Annual Congress, held in June or July, to be recognized and receive the award. Travel and lodging allowance will be provided.

More information is available at www.sar.org under the Youth and Education tab.  Compatriot Frey can be reached at jameshfrey@gmail.com.